Why do we Blog?

Why do we Blog? Why in fact would anyone want to write a journal that invites criticism from others. In researching the nature of Blogging, the kinds of people who Blog, and their reasons for doing so I found a huge range and variety of reasons for doing so.

Every journey should start with an understanding of the self, so before I begin analysing the behaviour and motivations of others, I will start by analysing myself. My introduction to social media has been a slow and gradual process. I got my first computer when I was in my early 20’s when most people didn’t have computers and not all of these people had the internet. It was the heady days of 1998. Microsoft had just realised a new operating system and were making their first forays into capturing the developing computer games market. I tried to avoid watching the Winter Olympics coverage and they found the first traces of water on the moon.
My first computer was even old for its day. On the box it said it ran at 166mhz but, when I learnt how to check the CPU clock frequency for myself, I found out that it was actually running at 86MHZ. It had 2MB of on-board memory, a 256MB hard drive, 8bit colour, and no sound card.
I spent my first few months playing around with html but, before to long, got a dial-up connection to the internet. Immediately I was presented with an environment where I could get instant answers to most of my questions. Wikipedia hadn’t been invented yet but I could type a html question into the Yahoo search engine and almost always find an answer.
It wasn’t too long after I got my internet connection that a friend told me about an online (text based) game called moral decay (A MUD or Multi User Dungeon). It is safe to say that my web technologies education very quickly took a back seat and I spent most of my time navigating through a text based world and killing a lot of the creatures I came across (both player and NPC), though I probably spent more time being killed.

This story may not seem to be entirely relevant to the growth and proliferation of social media until you think about the implications my introduction to a multi user game so early in my introduction to computers themselves. The internet itself was first used so that Department of Defence Researchers could share information with each other(http://www.answers.com/topic/why-was-the-internet-invented-history).
The advent of social media is really just the coming to term of the very basis of the internet itself. Networks are created to share information and computers, like people, have very limited utility unless they exist within a network.

Through this blog I seek to explore the nature of social media, in all its aspects, and hopefully to gain useful insights from those who are interested enough to comment on my posts. I will endeavour to read as many blog posts as possible, both those written by my fellow INB346 students and anything else that I find of interest out there on the web. I will comment on posts where I feel I have something to contribute to the conversation and hopefully some people will comment on my posts.
Furthermore I plan to advertise my new blog on FaceBook and Twitter and to continue to explore and find new Blogs to extend the discussion.

In regards to what makes a Blog a success (a huge topic on which many students have undoubtedly written thesis’s) I will introduce the first Blog I ever came across and the only one, till this time, that I have read extensively. The self proclaimed “The Best Page in the Universe” ( http://maddox.xmission.com/ ) is a Blog written by a single individual who is effectively ranting about every hate and like he has, and will probably ever have. I find it hugely entertaining. They key to Maddox’s success, I believe, is that he not only says the things many people are thinking, but he says it in a way that is entertaining.

Please feel free to comment with the reasons why you Blog, or some of the reasons why you think others Blog

Happy Blogging

7 thoughts on “Why do we Blog?

  1. Pingback: Introduction to Researching Digital Cutlures | Researching Digital Cultures

  2. digitalrainforest

    Congratulations on your first blog post, it was a pleasure to read. I particularly liked how you introduced your own personal history with computing and how you interspersed it with the evolution of the Internet and social media in the last 15 years or so. I will surely keep and eye on your blog throughout the semester.

    You are quite right that no one has expected the Internet to become what it is today. In the early days, it existed just as a network to exchange information between government and military organisations and a few universities. Just like in the case of any other large, exponentially growing system of interconnected components, its future is hard to predict – we are as much shaping what it will become as we are witnesses of its evolution.

    Reply
  3. jcoglan2013

    Well written, I enjoyed your journey through your computing experiences. I am also a first time blogger, but from my age I think it is pretty safe to say that my first computer lower specification than yours. I look forward to reading more blogs.

    Reply
  4. Julie (@hsinjuJulie)

    Hey Aden,
    An interesting post to read! My first computer was when I was 18 but I think most of my friends had one already. I was the computer illiterate one. But isn’t it great no matter where we start at, we can always get closer to our goals if we want to. Thanks to social technology and this unit, I know a little bit about you already. I wouldn’t have known anyone this fast in other units unless doing group assignments. Look forward to your next post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

